50 foot future track talk (thread moved from Red,White,Blue)

Bandeezee Tuesday, 4/26/2011

Jump to last page

Started a new thread to discuss everyone's track lengths. Again, I'm trying to get ideas on dimensions on a new track I plan to build this summer. I'm a teacher, so I will have some extra time during the summer. I have a long way to go though. So far I only have one roll of 50' Red, White, and Blue Hot Wheels track. I plan to grab another roll when I see one on eBay. As of now, my dad and I are going to get some cardboard to try and make a mockup of how the track would perform at different heights, downhill to straight-away ratios, etc.

I tried to copy and paste everybody's comments over from the other thread. I couldn't think of an easier way to do it. Any input anybody can provide on track dimensions helps, just keep in mind that the track is 50' long. I'll worry about the start and finish gate later.

Discussion

Page 1 of 3
View member profile
Bandeezee 4/26/11

I'm looking at making the track in 8' sections and actually be 48' long probably.

5' drop over 24' then 24' of flat. Build it in 3 sections that are hinged so they fold up to 8' long to fit in the back of my truck.
I've been working on the plans, hope to start actually building it next week.

View member profile
Bandeezee 4/26/11

@Martin - A new thread would probably be good I can see a thread about building monster tracks getting awesomely long.

Although you bring up a good point about the hill-to-straight ratio and what is needed and/or preferred. I'm of a mind that thinks the hill should be much shorter than the straight instead of a more 50/50 split. Have the challenge and fun of finding a fast car isn't how well it goes down a hill but how far it makes it on hill power alone.

View member profile
Bandeezee 4/26/11

I"m hoping to make mine flexible so I can alter the amount of drop, distance of the drop vs. flat.

I think I've got it figured out, at least on paper!

View member profile